8. In Class: Writing in First Person

The assignment was simple. Write in first person about someone who is in line at their local grocery store and the person in front of them is paying in pennies.

Rules:

  1. Significantly different character (from yourself)
  2. Voice has to show who they are

This is exactly why I never go to the grocery store. I’ve got enough going on in my life, I shouldn’t be bothered with such trivial things. I mean for fucks sake, this lady is paying with pennies, I don’t even remember the last time I had a penny in my wallet.

The housekeeper should have gone out and done this, what am I even paying her for? Its’ not that hard to get everything on a grocery list. What I do is actually hard, having to work all day, then coming home to my wife’s friends who “need” cream cheese with their salmon and crackers. At least I got a pack of smokes out of this.


Screen Shot 2017-02-03 at 3.15.44 PM.png


Leave a Reply

