23. 30 Day Poetry Challenge

My failure to push myself to write more has really been annoying; so today (January 31st, 2017) I have googled a 30 day poetry challenge and found heckyeahtumblrchallenges and starting tomorrow I will do a poem a day. This is to help push myself as a writer, and hopefully it will be a fun project.

Day 1: 

Write a poem where each line starts with a letter from your first name (an acrostic). It can be about anything, but it should not be about you or your name.

Jarring sounds

And wailing cries.

Mortal men praying to survive.

Ensnared by their own lies—

Stating they could never die.


Day 2

Who was the last person you texted? Write a five line poem to that person.

Screen Shot 2017-02-02 at 10.51.21 AM.png

Dom, you fool.

You make me laugh,

When you think you’re cool

Don’t let this go to your head.

You blonde headed tool.


Day 3

Find the nearest book (of any kind). Turn to page 8. Use the first ten full words on the page in a poem. You may use them in any order, anywhere in the poem.

41A9-ajUcYL.jpg
Son of a bitch!” I slept with my ex.

I’m to old for this nonsense,

Pants on the floor, bra on the door, underwear M.I.A.

He’s murmuring. It’s cryptic … wait.

O MY GOD. He is talking about her!

The girl from last year, who looked about five.

Guess I shouldn’t drink like I’ve got nine lives.

 

 

*The words in bold are the 10 words from page 8. Also, that was a lot harder than I thought it was going to be, sorry for the really rough poem


Day 4

Write a haiku. They’re often about nature, but yours can be about anything.

High fever. Runny Nose.

Aching bones and cold ass toes.

I’ll just stay in bed.


Day 5

Write a three line poem about lemons without using the following words: lemon, yellow, round, fruit, citrus, tart, juicy, peel, and sour.

Add the secret ingredient

Then water plus sugar in a glass

Stir it up and drink it down.


Day 6

Write a list poem.

I’ve got things to do.

Go running,

Feed the pet,

Check the mail,

Read that book,

Do laundry,

Paint my nails,

Eat some food,

Call parents,

And so much more.

Yeah,

I’ve go things to do.

But first I’ll take a nap.


Day 7

Post a poem (written by someone else) that you love (for any reason).

Love Sonnet 116 by William Shakespeare

Let me not to the marriage of true minds

Admit impediments; love is not love

Which alters when it alteration finds,

Or bends with the remover to remove:

O, no, it is an ever-fixèd mark,

That looks on tempests and is never shaken;

It is the star to every wand’ring bark,

Whose worth’s unknown, although his heighth be taken.

Love’s not Time’s fool, though rosy lips and cheeks

Within his bending sickle’s compass come;

Love alters not with his brief hours and weeks,

But bears it out even to the edge of doom.

If this be error and upon me proved,

I never writ, nor no man ever loved.

 

I love Shakespeare. My reason behind picking him is simply because I am both envious and grateful of his work. He is a man that has and will live on in history forever.


Day 8

Write a cinquain on a topic of your choice. (A cinquain consists of five unrhymed lines, each line has a set number of syllables)

Screen Shot 2017-02-08 at 4.52.30 PM.png


Day 9

Quickly jot down four verbs, four adjectives, and four nouns. Write a poem using all 12 words.Screen Shot 2017-02-11 at 2.01.26 PM.png

Wicked storm expands.

Society moves fast.

Curious people question.

Abrupt poem stops.


Day 10

Pick a one line song lyric to serve as an epigraph to your poem. Then, write the poem to accompany it.

Screen Shot 2017-02-11 at 2.13.28 PM.png

(Click to Listen)

“We used to have it all planned”

All set to go,

Things began to change.

Chaos ensued.


Day 11

Tell your life story in 6 words.

Adoption.

Friends.

Questioning.

Problems.

Unknown.

Creation.


Day 12

Write a short poem that a child would like.

The sun set, moon in the sky

Snuggle up, go to bed,

There is no need to cry.

Listen close to what is said.

 

The stars watch over you,

As mom and dad say goodnight.

Hold on to teddy, he looks up to you.

So hold on tight.

 

Close your eyes, there is a magic world waiting.

Count to ten

Soon there will be ice scream and ice skating.

I will promise this time and again.

 


Day 13

Write a narrative poem detailing a specific childhood memory.

There was pep in my step,FullSizeRender.jpg

I couldn’t wait.

The new edition,

To my family;

Fluffy and ran on all fours

We picked her up,

Small as a button, and filled with love.

My first dog, that I could call mine.


Day 14

Write a bad poem, make it as lousy as you can, do everything wrong, let yourself be awful.

easy as cake!

bad is good, because good+ bad = good. Yeah.

?Sense is made when no sense is given?

Woopsie lazy!!!!

eikl a kocr, ghyminR si darh

YOUR MIND IS SHOUTING

shhhhhhhh, quite please.

@&)%*@)!%&*#(&@*(^#&*@^*&)^!#

Donut need to make it work


Day 15

Take a walk until you find a tree you identify with, then write a poem using the tree as a metaphor for yourself or your life.

BIG TREE.

Stands still, as the world moves around it.

Rooted in place,

Yet, every changing.

Seasons come and seasons go,

Old tree, you survive through it all.

Here you stand with tough skin,

Rough outside, and somehow still kind.

Strong and resilient.


Day 16

Respond to the poem you posted yesterday with a poem of your own.

Did I just compare myself to a tree?

I don’t much like that.

I am less like a tree and more like a….

Wolf? Raccoon? Cat?

Not exactly sure,

But I’m most certainly not like a tree.


Day 17

Write a poem that employs a rhyme scheme.

Gotta make it rhyme

In a reasonable time.

First I’ll make up my mind

As to what to put in my lines

Wait look at that

I don did it just like dat.

 


Day 18

Write a poem without any end rhyme, only internal rhyme.

I have test and papers, to rest is to fail

I feel like a dog chasing his tail,

Am I racing against time?

*sorry about that…. sort of hard to do internal rhyme


Day 19

Imagine yourself doing any household task/chore, then write a poem using what you’ve imagined as an extended metaphor for writing.

When I clean my room,

I make sure things are just right.

There is a starting place,

A middle mess,

And an ending that just is clean.


Day 20

Write a poem of any length incorporating every word from your latest Facebook status

Well the thing is I don’t do ever make a Facebook status….

Screen Shot 2017-02-21 at 2.19.20 PM.png


Day 21

Choose one of the poems you’ve already written and posted as part of this challenge and re-order it in some way. You could rearrange the lines or stanzas or even words in a line. Think of it as a puzzle!

(DAY 6 Poem Re-done)

My nails paint

running GO.

Feed the pet,

Check…. the mail

Food, eat some.

I’ve got things to do.

I’VE GOT THINGS TO DO.

Parents: call.

That book: read

Laundry: do,

so much more and…

Yeah

But first I’ll take a nap.


Day 22

What is the first car you bought/drove/remember? Write a poem about it.

I didn’t love it, but it was mine.

A car to call my own

I feel mature, maybe even like an adult.

I should snapchat this.


Day 23

Write a seven line poem that begins with “it’s true that fresh air is good for the body” (from Frank O’Hara’s poem “Ave Maria”) and ends with “this is our body” (from Gary Snyder’s “The Bath”).

It’s true that fresh air is good for the body

Yeah I guess I would agree.

Or body also does good for fresh air,

So there is a secret bonus,

We have to work with the world,

Since without it we wouldn’t be alive…

I guess you could say that the world

is in a way our body

So get outside and help the world since

This is our body.

***WOW I am so sorry if anyone reads that because that is possible the worst poem I have ever done.


Day 24

Write a poem that’s different in some way from anything you’ve ever written. Take a chance! Be wild!

Bright light

BRIGHT light

Turn it off…..

shhhh, they are coming

DAMN IT.

I have to pee.

 


Day 25

Write a poem that includes all of the following words: pistachio, ink, pebble, weather, varnish.

The pistachio fell, it hit the ground

Like a pebble drowning.

The weather was raging

As I varnished my table,

This poem needs ink spilled on it

Cause wow this sucks.


Day 26

Gather some magazines/catalogs you don’t mind cutting up and spend ten minutes flipping through them looking for words/sentences that spark your interest. Cut out the words as you go, and (at the end of the ten minutes) arrange the words to form a cut-out poem.

WOOPS. This one slipped by me… sorry


Day 27

Begin with the title “The Poem I’d Never Write.” Then, write that poem.

The poem I’d never write,

Has yet to exist.

Nothing is impossible,

When it comes to writing.

It may be bad,

it may just stink

At least I tried.


Day 28

Visit a virtual art gallery and look around until you find a piece that intrigues you. Write a poem inspired by the artwork.

I am just to lazy….sorry guys not going to do today’s poem.


Day 29

Briefly research a poetic form of your choice and write a poem according to the rules of that particular form. *(I DID A SHAKESPEAREAN SONNET)

A stark silence is thin as winter ice

The ice begins to crack, men set their guns

Soldiers realize their lives are war’s sick vice

Knowing they’d never see the sun again

 

Anticipation stills. Death fills the air

They plunge into waters of pulled in blood.

A boy begins to say his closing prayer

His knees sinking into the lifeless mud

 

It is a death of numbing sensation

And yet many seem to prefer this

For death is their final true temptation

The life after the war a feared abyss

 

Devils of war tell the soldiers to sign

Fighting certain signed death on the front lines

 


Day 30

Write a poem employing extended metaphor to illustrate the experience of the last thirty days.  I decide to write a short NON-poem reflection on this experience

I hated this. It was fun at first, but then it just became a chore. I was just doing it to do it, and that really wasn’t the point of this experience. I was disappointed, but at least I did it, so I am proud of myself. It definitely didn’t help my writing, but it did push me… a little bit, to think outside the box. I think if I had done this during the Summer instead of during the school year I would have had more fun doing it. This won’t stop me from trying, even if most of the poetry that came out of this sucked. And what really sucks is that I gave up on myself! I wish I had more time for this, but with so much work, I let this slip by me.


Leave a Reply

