53. I AM OFFICIAL AN ADVERTISING MAJOR

A Dream Come True

I GOT INTO ADVERTISING! I am overjoyed right now. I don’t exactly have the words to explain to you how much this means to me. I have had a rough time figuring out where I belong in the SMU community and now I am finally a part of something that means so much to me. I was so worried about not getting in; since if I hadn’t gotten in I would have had to think about transferring, since I am so set on being an advertising major and I just couldn’t wait another two semesters to start learning everything there is to know about the advertising world. BUT I GOT IN, so I don’t have to worry about that.

I should clarify that I got into the creative track in the advertising program. Which is exactly what I wanted. I remember the first time I brought it up that I wanted to be an advertising major. I told my advisor and she told me that it was very competitive program to get into and that I shouldn’t put my eggs in one basket. That literally terrified me, since I knew that this was what I wanted to do. Lucky things worked out, mainly because I put the work in that was necessary to get into the program. I know I am sort of rambling on about this. I am just so appreciative that I have this opportunity to be a part of the advertising community at SMU.

I thought I would also share one of the writing components that was a personal statement for the application.

Personal Statement

I arrived at college not having a clue about what I wanted my major to be. I ended up taking off my second semester of my freshman year to explore what I really wanted to do about college. I came to realize that, despite my rocky start that fall, I still wanted be a part of SMU. In making this decision, I also chose to pursue advertising. I first went to one of my professors about the advertising admission process, he gave me the following advice: I should not oversell myself when applying to major in advertising because that would be like overselling a cheap car; you’re basically ripping off whoever buys the car. I wasn’t exactly sure how to go about “not overselling myself,” especially in a personal statement. However, I knew that there were three aspects about myself I wanted to convey. The first is what advertising means to me, the second is how advertising plays a role in my life, and lastly why I want to pursue a major in advertising specifically at SMU.

After taking some advertising classes, I was further reassured that advertising is what I really want to learn about. When I started to learn more about advertising, I began to see how it is not about who you are, but rather it is about what you do and create. You have to work well with others to build something that can have an impact. I also learned that advertising is not just all hard facts and numbers: It’s about creating something that will make an impression. Ads are everywhere. It cannot be ignored, and it is something special that I want to be a part of.

My full name is James Kelly Klopp, but I usually just go by Kell. My first name tends to separate me from others, allowing me to advertising myself. This idea, of ‘advertising myself’ seems a little weird, but for some reason, it’s beyond interesting to me. Those are the quirks that sticks with me and that give me satisfaction, whether in my name or in being so drawn to advertising as a profession. I’ve been told that if you love your job, you won’t work a day in your life. If I could work in advertising, I wouldn’t be just waking up in the morning to go to work, I would be waking up to do the thing I love.

Collage can be a confusing time and it’s especially hard to find what you want to do with so many options SMU offers. I know you cannot just become an advertising student at SMU; Students have to earn the right to study in the program. Like most things in life, you have to not only want it, but you have to go out and do it. An acceptance into SMU Temerlin Advertising Institute is something that must be earned, and I would be honored to be a part of this special community within SMU.


I know I already shared the video component of my application but just in case you didn’t get to see it before, here it is again:

 


Leave a Reply

